Press Releases

Press Release - Highest Environmental Accolade Presented to Three Champions

21 November 2017 - The President’s Award for the Environment (PAE) will be awarded to three environmental champions by President Halimah Yacob on 21 November 2017. The recipients of the PAE are Dr Shawn Kaihekulani Yamauchi Lum, Anchor Green Primary School and Khoo Teck Puat Hospital. Inspiring green consciousness in every facet of the community, these environmental champions are symbols for fellow Singaporeans to contribute to a clean, green and sustainable Singapore.

PAE 2017 Award Recipients

2              Dr Shawn Kaihekulani Yamauchi Lum – Dr Shawn Lum is an influential and well respected leader within the nature community. Dr Lum’s leadership at the Nature Society (Singapore) since 2008 had been associated with many conservation and outreach initiatives that aim to make nature part of the Singaporean identity. Aiding in climate protection efforts, Dr Lum facilitated the production of a cost-effective monitoring system to monitor carbon stock changes in land use sector, thus allowing regular sending of findings to United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). Dr Lum also partnered Sentosa Development Corporation and many schools to rescue valuable seeds in the Sentosa Green Wave project, which saved several endangered tree species.

3              Anchor Green Primary School – Anchor Green Primary School (AGPS) grooms its pupils to be aspiring and gracious learners who actively contribute to the environment and the community within a culture of care, collaboration and innovation. For example, AGPS ignites school-wide environmental consciousness by training Environment Champions and Green Club members who go on to educate others on green initiatives. With a strong tradition of sustained commitment in recycling, AGPS collaborates with IKEA, Brother, WWF-Singapore and National Parks Board to promote school-wide recycling efforts and resource conservation. AGPS is one of the first 10 schools to use a food digester under Love Your Food @ AGPS 2017 initiative by the National Environment Agency (NEA) to minimise waste.

4              Khoo Teck Puat Hospital – Khoo Teck Puat Hospital (KTPH) builds on its strong foundation in sustainability since its opening in 2010 to instil green values beyond its staff, by involving patients and the Yishun community. KTPH works closely with the Yishun community for its Eco-garden, with sales of their produce subsidising the operation of the Eco-garden. As a champion for biodiversity, KTPH conscientiously conserves and documents about 700 local and native trees, 700 indoor potted plants, 70 species of birds and 80 species of butterflies, which in turn enhances the natural environment of the hospital.  KTPH embraces green technology by implementing the first Energy Display Dashboard within the healthcare industry in 2016 to measure unusual energy usage and promote energy conservation among staff.

5              Professor Leo Tan, a member of the PAE 2017 Judging Panel and a recipient of PAE 2007 said: “Environmental sustainability first begins with individuals or organisations that think about the Earth they want to live behind for others. With the reality of climate change and urgent need to conserve the environment, it is heartening to see that the PAE 2017 recipients, who represent different strata of the community, had taken the time to chart and execute their plans to contribute to environmental sustainability. It sends a strong message that there is a role everyone can play to champion environmental sustainability and a robust network of green enthusiasts that you can tap on to further your green cause”.

6              This year marks the award’s twelfth anniversary since it commenced in 2006. From 2017, PAE will be held biennially to better guide and cultivate potential nominees. As National Environment Agency (NEA)’s EcoFriend Award and Singapore’s national water agency, PUB’s Watermark Award are held annually, the PAE judging panel can take into account this collective pool of winners to award the highest environmental accolade.




21 November 2017


For media enquiries, please contact:

Ms Radhiah Ibrahim

Executive (Strategic Comms & Media Ops)

Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources

DID: 6731 9865           



Filter / Show By Category